The Arnold House is a Grade II listed building. Formerly a finishing school for girls, it was bought in 1935 by the Freemasons. The property was extended with additional rooms added and used to host events for the public such as weddings / memorials / conferences / parties / workshops etc.
The unique “Shakespeare Suite” has a heritage pipe organ and grandfather clock and is licensed to conduct civil partnership weddings. Many other activities are also now run within the building.
It would be interesting to know when the house was built. It seems to appear on all the Ordnance Survey maps, and the name suggests the building is named after Thomas Arnold, famed headmaster of Rugby School. If anybody could shed any light on this however, we would be grateful!
With thanks to Le’Arndra Taylor, Deputy Manager of The Arnold House, for the information in the first part of this article.